Every year Allegheny County Medical Society (ACMS) Foundation recognizes extraordinary physicians, dedicated volunteers, and outstanding organizations that have made significant contributions to the health and well-being of patients in the Pittsburgh region and beyond during its annual awards and fundraising gala.

ACMS Foundation is currently accepting nominations for its annual physician and community awards.  If you know of or work with a physician, nurse, healthcare professional, volunteer or organization whose dedication and contributions to patient care deserve to be recognized, the medical society wants to hear about them.  What better way to honor their passion and dedication to patient care than nominating them for one of the following prestigious awards:

Physician Awards:

Nathaniel Bedford Primary Care Award 

Recognizes a primary care physician for exemplary, compassionate, comprehensive and dedicated care of patients.

Read more

Ralph C. Wilde Leadership Award

Stanley M. Marks, MD, is the 2018 Ralph C. Wilde Leadership Award recipient. This award recognizes a physician who demonstrates exceptional skill in their clinical care of patients and dedication to the ideals of the medical profession as a teacher or profession leader.

Dr. Marks is chairman of UPMC Hillman Cancer Center, one of the largest integrated cancer networks in the country with more than 60 locations and the only National Cancer Institute-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center in western Pennsylvania. He is director of clinical services and chief medical officer of UPMC Hillman Cancer Center; chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology at UPMC Shadyside; and clinical professor of medicine at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.

Read more

Benjamin Rush Individual Award

Mr. Bill Strickland, Jr., is the 2018 Benjamin Rush Individual Award recipient. Established in 1947, the award recognizes an individual that is not a physician, who devotes time, skills or resources to assisting others and contributes to the advancement of healthcare.


Mr. Stickland grew up in the Manchester neighborhood of Pittsburgh and graduated from Oliver High School.  As a youth, he was inspired by high school art teacher and skilled artisan Frank Ross, who pressed upon him the powers of arts, education and community. 


While he was still an undergraduate at the University of Pittsburgh, Mr.

Read more

Richard E. Deitrick Humanity in Medicine Award

Thomas B. Julian, MD, is the 2018 recipient of the ACMS Richard E. Deitrick Humanity in Medicine Award. This award honors a physician who has improved the lives of patients by caring for them with integrity, honesty, and respect of their human dignity, and serves as a role model for other physicians.


An accomplished breast cancer surgeon, researcher and educator, Dr. Julian serves as the associate medical director of Cancer Program Development, Allegheny Health Network (AHN) Cancer Institute; surgeon, Breast Surgical Oncology, AHN; and professor of surgery, Drexel University College of Medicine.



Read more

Nathaniel Bedford Primary Care Award

Ann L. McGaffey, MD, FAAFP, has been chosen as the 2018 Nathaniel Bedford Primary Care Award recipient. Presented by the ACMS since 1975, the award recognizes a primary care physician for exemplary, compassionate, comprehensive and dedicated care of patients.


A graduate of Oregon Health Science University School of Medicine, Dr. McGaffey is clinical associate professor of Family Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; assistant director of the UPMC St. Margaret Family Medicine Residency; and has served as medical director of the Bloomfield-Garfield Family Health Center (BGFHC) since it was established in 1984.

Read more

Benjamin Rush Community Organization Award

Global Links has been selected as the 2018 Benjamin Rush Community Organization Award. Established in 1947, the award recognizes a company, institution, organization or agency that is successfully addressing a community health issue.


Founded in 1989, Global Links is a Pittsburgh-based medical relief and development organization dedicated to providing life-saving medical supplies, equipment and support to people in need in the United States and international communities. Global Links partners with hospitals, healthcare organizations and the public to capture still-useful medical supplies, equipment and other materials and provides them to resource-poor countries around the world, as well as local safety net organizations.

Read more

John G Krah Executive Leadership Award

Mr. James M. Collins, chief executive officer (CEO), St. Clair Hospital, and G. Alan Yeasted, MD, FACP, senior vice president and chief medical officer (CMO) emeritus, are the recipients of the 2018 Allegheny County Medical Society (ACMS) Executive Leadership Award. This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and advocacy for physicians. Over a sustained time, the recipients shall have displayed administrative guidance and support to physicians to improve their ability to improve the lives and health of the people of our community.  

“We are pleased to acknowledge a remarkable team,” says Keith Kanel, MD, chair, ACMS Awards Committee.

Read more

Physician Volunteer Award

Jan W. Madison, MD, is the 2018 recipient of the ACMS Physician Volunteer Award. The award recognizes physicians for the donation of their time or talents for charitable, clinical, educational or community service activities, domestically or internationally, as a volunteer.


Dr. Madison is being recognized for her selfless community involvement, most notably through her volunteer leadership within the Gateway Medical Society, which is a local component of the National Medical Association (NMA). Gateway Medical Society was established in Pittsburgh in 1963 and is dedicated to addressing social and ethnic disparities in the delivery of healthcare, to promote effective health education, and to develop a more cohesive and effective community of professionals.

Read more