Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Licensure Requirement

All physicians are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (23 P.S. § 6311).  Applying for an initial license from the State Board of Medicine requires 3 hours of training approved by the Department of Human Services (DHS) on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting.
 
As a condition of license renewal, you are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. 
 
The Pennsylvania Medical Society members can receive free, online training at www.pamedsoc.org.
 
In-person training available to ACMS members on Saturday, December 8th.
 
 
Register for December 8th Program

Additional Information

KeepKidsSafe.gov - Additional information from the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services

 

Listing of Approved Training Programs