top of page

Allegheny County Medical Society Foundation Accepting Nominations for Prestigious Physician and Com

ACMS Foundation is currently accepting nominations for its annual physician and community awards. If you know of or work with a physician, nurse, healthcare professional, volunteer or organization whose dedication and contributions to patient care deserve to be recognized, the medical society wants to hear about them. What better way to honor their passion and dedication to patient care than nominating them for one of the following prestigious awards:

Physician Awards:

Nathaniel Bedford Primary Care Award

Recognizes a primary care physician for exemplary, compassionate, comprehensive and dedicated care of patients.

Ralph C. Wilde Leadership Award

Recognizes a physician who demonstrates exceptional skill in clinical care of patients and dedication to the ideals of the medical profession as a teacher or profession leader.

Physician Volunteer Award

Recognizes a physician for charitable, clinical, educational or community service activities, domestically or internationally, as a volunteer.

Richard E. Deitrick Humanity in Medicine Award

Honors a physician who has improved the lives of patients by caring for them with integrity, honesty, and respect for their human dignity, and is a role model for other physicians.

Community Awards:

Benjamin Rush Individual Award

Recognizes an individual who is not a physician and who devotes time, skills, or resources to assisting others and contributes to the advancement of healthcare.

Benjamin Rush Community Organization Award

Recognizes a company, institution, organization or agency (outside of a hospital or care facility) that is successfully addressing a community health issue.

Executive Leadership Award

Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and advocacy for physicians. Over a sustained time, the recipient shall have displayed administrative guidance and support to physicians to improve their ability to improve the lives and health of the people of our community.


Past winners and nomination forms are available online at and must be submitted by Wednesday, April 15, 2020. You may submit multiple nominations online. For more information contact the society office at 412-321-5030. Awards will be presented at the ACMS Foundation Community Impact Gala, September 12, 2020, at The Westin Pittsburgh.

The Allegheny County Medical Society represents physician members from all specialties and provides leadership and advocacy for patients and physicians. The organization has been serving Allegheny County since 1865.

bottom of page